How Many World Heritage Sites are in Nepal?

  • Oct 5, 2020
  • Sandip Paudel
  • 1385

Table of Contents

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nepal

UNESCO is one of the special agencies of United Nations. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has listed four sites of Nepal as a UNESCO world heritage sites which are Kathmandu Valley, Sagarmatha National Park, Chitwan National Park and Lumbini, the birth place of Lord Buddha.

Read More: Must-see UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nepal 

Changu Narayan, UNESCO World Heritage place in Kathmandu Valley

Changu Narayan Temple, One of the World Heritage Places in Kathmandu Valley 

How Many World Heritage Sites are in Nepal?

There are exactly four world heritage sites in Nepal listed by UNESCO, among them Kathmandu Valley has different 7 world heritage places, so in total there are 10 world heritage places in Nepal as of now.

Apart from 4 World heritage sites and total 10 places of World heritage sites in Nepal, there are other 15 places/sites which are listed as a tentative list of world heritage sites in Nepal.

the four UNESCO world heritage sites in Nepal, two are listed as a Cultural Heritage sites and remaining two are natural heritage sites. Regarding cultural heritage sites, Kathmandu Valley is the first site which hosts 7 UNESCO world heritage places and second one is Lumbini which is the birth place of Lord Buddha. Sagarmatha National Park and Chitwan National park are categorized under natural heritage sites which are the home of Mountains, flora and fauna.

As of today there are 15 sites on the UNESCO world heritage tentative lists among them Tilaurakot, the home town of Lord Buddha is to be listed as a world heritage site very soon. For further information you can read this news:- Tilaurakot: to be listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site

Here is short info of all UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Nepal.

Kathmandu Valley

Kathmandu valley is listed as the cultural heritage sites by UNESCO which is classified in other seven historic monument zones containing art, architecture and medieval cities. All seven UNESCO World heritage sites in Kathmandu are:

Kathmandu Durbar Square
Patan Durbar Square
Bhaktapur Durbar Square
Changu Narayan

Read More: World Heritage Zones in Kathmandu 

Sagarmatha National Park

Sagarmatha is the Nepali name of Mount Everest. Sagarmatha National Park is natural heritage sites containing mountains including Mount Everest, glaciers, lakes, Rivers, valleys along with flora and fauna. The Sagarmatha National Park is also home of famous Sherpa Ethnic People so the site also highlights the unique culture, faith and historic lifestyle of the Sherpa people.

Many rare wild animals including Panda, Snow Leopard, Himalyan Monal (Danfe in Nepali) and many other birds and animals are living in the park.

Read More: Sagarmatha National Park: everything you should know

Chitwan National Park

Chitwan National Park was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1984. The park is located in Southern part of Bagmati State extending over four districts of Nepal – Chitwan, Nawalparasi, Parsa and Makawanpur. Chitwan is famous for single horned rhinoceros and Bengal Tigers.

Read More: Chitwan National Park and Around

Lumbini, The birth place of Lord Buddha

Lumbini is the birth place of Lord Buddha. He was born in 623 BC so it is one of the holiest places for Buddhists as well as every human being representing the peace and love. It was listed in UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1997 as a Cultural heritage site.

Mayadevi Temple, Bodhi Tree, Ashoka Pillar, Maya Devi Pond, Different Monasteries sponsored and constructed by different Buddhist Countries and museum are major attractions of Lumbini.

Read More: 20 Places you should visit in Lumbini

UNESCO Tentative Listed Places in Nepal

Muktinath Valley
Gorkha Palace
Lo Manthang
Vajrayogini & Sankhu
Ruru Kshetra
Nuwakot Palace
Ram Janaki Temple
Sinja Valley
Bhurti Temple